Graffit-e February 2010

Interns Bring CLASS to Capital Hill
Scatter members with plaque

Leland Congressional Interns

Leland Interns with Khator

Center for Public Policy (CPP) students head to Capital Hill as 2010 Mickey Leland Congressional Interns.

The Mickey Leland Internship Program gives students from the University of Houston, Texas Southern University and the University of Houston-Downtown a chance to work in the nationís halls of power.

The program, administered by the University of Houstonís Center of Public Policy, allows a selected few to work for five months in the offices of U.S. House members, answering phones, greeting constituents, doing research, giving tours of the Capitol and, if theyíre lucky, helping draft legislation. Students are given the opportunity to see the government in action and gain valuable hands-on experience for their future careers in public service.

The 2010 Leland interns are:

burnett Rachel Burnett, UH: Congressman Ted Poe (TX)
Haffner Jeneba Haffner, UH: Congressman Ciro Rodriguez (TX)
Hampton Kaine Hampton, UH: Congresswoman Maxine Waters (CA)
Ladet Janea Ladet, UH: Congressman Chet Edwards (TX)
Sanchez Jose Sanchez, UHD: Congressman Gene Green (TX)
Williams Tonya Chissell Williams, UHD: Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee (TX)
Aziz Shukri Aziz, TSU: Congressman Al Green (TX)
Williams, Bobby Ray Bobby Ray Williams, TSU: Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee (TX)

Visit the CPP website to learn more about the Mickey Leland Intern Program, the 2010 Inters, and the Center of Public Policy.

Student Releases Debut CD

Moores School of Music graduate student release Jazz CD. Read More >>

Honored for Community Service

Psychology student honored by the National Society of Collegiate Scholars. Read More >>

Student Readings

Creative Writing graduate students part of the Gulf Coast Reading Series Read More >>

Softball Season Hits the Ground Running

The 2010 Cougars Softball team is warmed up and ready for action. Read More >>

Student CEOs

The University of Houston Collegiate Entrepreneurs’ Organization

^ back to top ^